HOW TO NAIL CHRISTMAS AT THE LAST MINUTE

my-ultimate-2016-gift-guide-2

 

Why does Christmas always seem to come around so quickly?! Every November I think I have plenty of time for present shopping, and then end up doing it all in a last minute rush, getting annoyed when things are out of stock or won’t be delivered in time… For once, I’m actually almost there this year (must be a sign that I’m a proper adult now!), but I still sympathise with all of you who are stuck for ideas of what to get the wonderful people in your life this Christmas.

With just over a week to go the clock is ticking, so here’s a round up of my top picks for Christmas gifting, complete with links for speedy shopping, and a full background check to make sure items are still in stock and available for delivery in time for Christmas. Some of these gifts are quite pricey I’ll admit, but this guide is all about those special, quality gifts that make you feel like you’ve really nailed Christmas when you get them for someone you love.

For someone who deserves a pamper… There are so many amazing bath and body gift sets around this year that make great presents for all those mums, nans, aunties and sisters who deserve a night off from looking after everyone else. My favourite pick has to be the Laura Mercier Sweet Temptations Luxe Body Collection. It’s well worth the £55 price tag in my opinion, as the packaging looks really luxurious and the products smell divine – I always know when my mum has used her Laura Mercier body crème because the scent fills the whole house!

slide1

1. Laura Mercier Sweet Temptations Ambre Vanillé Luxe Body Collection – £55

2. This Works Bedtime Story Gift Set – £30

3. Clarins ‘Aroma Body Care Collection- Spa At Home’ Christmas gift set – £40

 
For a little bit of luxury… Making someone feel special shouldn’t have to cost the earth. Sometimes, little luxury accessories are just as lovely to gift as larger high-end goods, as they still give people that ‘designer’ feeling, without the unreachable price tag! I remember one Christmas my boyfriend got me a gorgeous rose-gold Mulberry keyring. I was obsessed with Mulberry at the time, so I was over-the-moon when I received it as I felt like I had my own little piece of Mulberry despite not being able to afford one of their bags! Soft cashmere scarves also make really lovely gifts, and cardholders are perfect for commuters as they’re a great upgrade on something practical they’ll use every day on the tube!

slide21. Johnstons camel cashmere scarf – £99

2. Mulberry Heart Keyring – £75

3. Kate Spade Saffiano leather cardholder – £45

 
For a budding beauty blogger… With the world of blogging and YouTube forever growing, there are a lot of younger girls out there just getting into makeup and beauty. It can be tricky to know what to get young girls in this sense, as they want to have fun with makeup and explore different beauty trends, but it’s probably not a great idea to encourage an addiction to high-end brands like MAC or Charlotte Tilbury just yet! When I was younger and just starting to discover makeup and fashion, I loved reading style and beauty books to get inspiration. I especially remember enjoying ‘That Extra Half an Inch: Hair, Heels and Everything in Between’ by Victoria Beckham, which is hilarious looking back now at me trying to channel Posh Spice at the age of about 12 or 13! Benefit Christmas gifts are also really good, as the products are young and playful, and they come with a little tips and tricks handbook to show you how to use each product. As for skincare gifts, I really recommend Liz Earle. The Christmas sets aren’t too expensive, and the products work really well for most skin types, from sensitive to acne-prone.

slide3

1. Bobbi Brown Makeup Manual – £17.00

2. Benefit Feelin’ Dandy Lip and Cheek Kit – £25.50

3. Liz Earle The Cleanse & Polish™ Experience Skincare Gift Set – £15.50

 
For Him… Men get harder to buy for every year! So I couldn’t do a gift guide without including a few ideas for what to get dads, brothers, boyfriends etc. FitBits are great for any gym bunnies out there looking to kick-start their New Year’s resolutions. The FitBit Blaze is one of the more expensive models, but it’s by far the most stylish and has some amazing features. If you’ve already done the whole watch thing, watch boxes are also a nice gift for men who have a growing collection of expensive wrist wear. I love this Dulwich Designs 3 piece box from John Lewis as its really smart looking, and makes choosing which watch to wear slightly more exciting! Cardholders are again an easy win – I don’t know any man who wouldn’t appreciate a nice leather cardholder from a luxury brand like Mulberry, or Tom Ford.

slide4

1. FitBit Blaze – £149.99

2. Dulwich Designs Monaco Watch Box – £45

3. Mulberry Grained Leather card holder – £95

 

I hope this guide has given you some much needed inspiration in the countdown to Christmas! What are some of your favourite gifts from Christmases past?

Aimee xoxo

Leave a comment