HOW TO FEEL ENERGISED EVERY DAY

MY RECIPE FOR FRESH GINGER TEA

I was grabbing a quick breakfast in Pret one day when I decided to try one of their ‘Ginger Shots’. I thought ‘please let this be the work-appropriate answer to a tequila shot’ because I was definitely going to need one to get through my long day of meetings ahead. Its fiery taste is an acquired one, but I saw it off in a couple of painful gulps and shortly after I was honestly buzzing. So, I guess in hindsight it was a lot like tequila after all!

Thankfully, unlike tequila, ginger is an amazing super food packed full of antioxidants, vitamins and essential oils. Its list of reported health benefits is impressive, to say the least, but there are three in particular that I can definitely vouch for now that I’m a firm ginger enthusiast/addict:

It’s a natural cold remedy

Firstly, its powerful anti-inflammatory and anti-bacterial properties boost your immune system, which is essential when you’re fighting a cold. It’s also a natural expectorant which, to put it plainly, means it loosens up any phlegm in your lungs and airways and helps you cough it up. Not pretty I know, but better out than in ay! I also read that it helps to relax the muscles surrounding your airways, which can constrict and make breathing difficult for those with allergies or asthma. So you really can reap the medicinal benefits of ginger all year long, not just in winter flu season.

It’s amazing for your skin

On a slightly more glamorous note, ginger serves up some incredible beauty benefits too. It’s mostly known for its ability to aid digestion and soothe upset tummies. This is great news from a beauty perspective, as our digestive system plays a central role in how our skin looks overall. By aiding digestion, ginger helps to speed up the removal of toxins from our bodies: meaning fewer spots, slower ageing and healthy glowing skin, yippee!

It gives you life – literally

But the thing I find most interesting is that according to traditional Chinese medicine, ginger helps to improve the movement of ‘Qi’ (life force, or energy) around the body. All sounds a bit hippie-ish I know, but essentially that just means it promotes better blood circulation. Now, our circulatory system is one of the most important functions in our bodies, so we should all be taking note – especially seeing as many of us suffer from chronic stress and anxieties these days, which causes inflammation in the body that can be detrimental to our circulatory health.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now, trust me when I say a ‘shot’ of ginger isn’t for the faint-hearted, especially first thing in the morning. However, one of the easiest, and most enjoyable, ways I add ginger into my daily routine is with a warming fresh ginger tea. It’s super easy to make: In its simplest form, all you do is peel and chop up a nice girthy chunk of ginger (wink, wink) and throw it in a mug with some hot water.

However, if you have a bit more time, I like to grate the ginger into a cafetière and leave it to stew for a few minutes. This gives the tea a much more potent and punchy flavour, but I mainly do it because I find using my mini cafetière really satisfying! I then strain it into a cute mug for added enjoyment, before stirring in some honey and a wedge of lemon just to take the edge off.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Do any of you love ginger tea as much as I do? And what are your top tips for feeling more energised every day?

Aimee xoxo

 

*Disclaimer: I am not a health professional, and the topics discussed in this post are based on my own research from reliable sources, and my personal experiences.

One thought on “HOW TO FEEL ENERGISED EVERY DAY

Leave a Reply

