WHAT I GOT FOR CHRISTMAS & 2017 GOALS

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

I was hoping to use the festive break to really pick up my blogging again, but I’ve felt run down and full of cold pretty much the whole time I’ve been off work, so I decided to take some time out to just relax and not stress over it. After all, the New Year is all about resetting, refocusing and starting fresh. So, for my first blog post of 2017 I wanted to share some of the lovely things I got for Christmas this year, and have a little chat about a few personal goals I have for the year ahead.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

NEVER GET TOO COMFORTABLE

Back in the summer, I decided to start my blog. I’d wanted to start one for a few years, but had continued to put it off because I didn’t think my content would be good enough, and I felt really anxious about how people would react to it. It was terrifying I’ll admit, putting myself out there so candidly, but I’m glad I finally put my insecurities aside and did it because it’s a real passion of mine now. I feel more confident with every post I publish and it gives me a bigger focus in life outside of my job. Now I’m taking my first baby steps in blogging – and loving it – I can’t wait to start being braver in other areas too. YouTube is another channel I’d like to have a go at this year, although I don’t feel ready to get in front of the camera just yet. But who knows, as cliché as it sounds I’m focusing on building my self-confidence this year and caring less about other peoples’ opinions, so maybe this time next year you’ll be watching my videos as well as reading my posts.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

SPEND LESS, INVEST MORE

I actually couldn’t tell you how much I’ve spent on clothes in the last year. But let’s just say I’ve kept my postman very busy with packages coming and going! However, my style has changed quite a bit recently, and I’m more interested in classic, timeless pieces that can live on in my wardrobe for as long as possible. Fashion isn’t something I particularly want to spend all my money on these days. I’d rather save my pennies to go towards travel, or more importantly a mortgage! So, I’m letting go of my fast fashion hauling this year in an effort to buy less, but invest more in better quality items that I can wear within an inch of its life and really get a bang for my buck – so to speak!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

BE MINDFUL OF MY HEALTH

Of course, this wouldn’t be a New Year post without me vowing to be a healthier, fitter, slimmer and overall better version of myself in 2017! Like many others, I’m kick-starting the year with a January detox, and feebly declaring my intentions to prep all of my meals and workout at least 5 days a week– let’s see how long that lasts ay! But I also want to put more focus on my mental wellbeing too. I can get so bogged down with work and all the little daily stresses, that I forget to take time out to do things that I really enjoy doing, and that make me feel more positive about life. Like exploring new places and creating more blog content, or even just having a coffee catch-up with friends, or snuggling up in bed with a good book instead of scrolling through my social media all night.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you’re still reading at this point, well done for making it through my very stereotypical ‘new year, new me’ rant! I think I wanted to write this more for my own benefit than for my readers, to make my goals feel all that more tangible and meaningful. But hopefully, this will have at least inspired you to tackle any challenges or goals you’ve been avoiding for whatever reason. If not… I will leave you with one of my favourite motivational quotes, which should do the trick!

“Don’t work 8 hours for a company then go home and not work on your own goals. You’re not tired, you’re uninspired.”

– Someone on Instagram

 

Now, get out there and smash it all year long! I’d love to hear about your goals for the year ahead.

Aimee xoxo

2 thoughts on “WHAT I GOT FOR CHRISTMAS & 2017 GOALS

  1. I love this post! All your presents look so nice, I really want one of those mini printers, you’ll have to do a review and let me know what they are like. Really love your resolutions, I don’t think they are cliche because mine are pretty much all the some, also the YouTube channel! I am also too scared but we should just go for it, we could do a collab.. wink wink! Also, how do you get all your pictures so pretty!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks India! I definitely will do they’re great if you’re into scrapbooking and things like that!

      Oh I know! I tried to vlog in Prague with Joe and I just couldn’t do it and be like natural, it was a total fail! Think it was just too much pressure at the time for my first attempt, we need to practice at home on our own before we try doing it out and about! 🙂 But yes definitely lets both get practicing and work on something together sometime!!

      Honestly, I have like the best lens ever for taking photos of objects and things close up – it makes the background go a bit blurry – and other than cropping photos I dont edit them at all! I’ll link it below you should definitely save up and get it or the equivalent that fits your camera!

      http://www.johnlewis.com/olympus-m-zuiko-digital-45mm-f-1-8g-standard-lens/p231779088?colour=Black&navAction=jump&_requestid=16047570

      Like

Leave a Reply

