HOW I SURVIVE LONG-HAUL FLIGHTS

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A BLOGGER’S GUIDE TO IN-FLIGHT BEAUTY

It’s a well-known fact that humidity levels on aeroplanes are lower than those in the Sahara desert. Which basically sucks every ounce of moisture from your skin, leaving it dehydrated, sensitive, tired, dull-looking, wrinkly… Thank you, but no thank you! As a well-seasoned flyer, I know my way around high altitude skincare. In fact, I reckon I’ve nailed my in-flight beauty routine, with a handful of fuss-free essentials that really work to keep me feeling fresh and hydrated, so my skin is ready for whatever crazy temperatures the foreign land throws at me!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Short haul flights don’t have quite as much of an impact on your face, but it’s still important to give your skin a little helping hand. A super hydrating moisturiser like the This Works In Transit Camera Close-Up’ is perfect as it’s a moisturiser, mask and primer in one, and will ensure your skin stays nourished and plump. I always make sure my skin is well moisturised before a flight, but I usually pack this in my hand luggage to reapply if I feel I need to.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The mistake people often make is forgetting their hands, so take a rich hand cream with you on your travels. I love the Clarins Hand and Nail Treatment Cream, as it soaks in quickly and really works to keep my hands and nails in good condition. I’m meticulous about hygiene on planes. It just makes my skin crawl thinking about all the germs that must be inside the cabin – and on my seat! So I always carry a hand sanitizer with me to regularly clean my hands (especially before eating food or touching my face). Soap & Glory’s Hand Maid is my favourite as it smells amazing and isn’t too harsh on my skin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mid-long haul flights are a bit tougher on your skin, so I pack a few additional bits on top of my short-haul essentials. I don’t like to fly with makeup on as it generally makes me breakout, which is hardly ideal when I’m jetting off on my holidays. However, I always pack a travel sized version of my favourite micellar water and some cotton pads, to make sure my skin stays clean and fresh throughout a flight. This Garnier one is technically over the size limit to take in hand luggage, but I’ve always managed to sneak it through security! Failing that, you can usually pick this up in a Boots once you’re in the airport. After I’ve cleansed my face with this, I’ll either apply a moisturiser or if I’m feeling really indulgent, a hydrating face mask like this Clarins HydraQuench Cream Mask. This is far more discreet than a sheet mask, so you won’t have to worry about scaring small children, and you just wipe it off with a cotton pad so no face washing required. I’ll also regularly apply lip balm to keep my lips nice and plump too. When I’m about midway through a long-haul flight, or about to have a snooze, I like to use some Skyn Iceland Hydro Cool Firming Eye Gels. They rehydrate the delicate under eye area so I don’t step off the plane with puffy, sunken eyes. Plus they’re really refreshing if I’m feeling a bit groggy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just before landing, I like to freshen up with some perfume or body spray. This is where those little freebie samples come in really handy, because they take up no space at all. I’ll also throw on some lipstick or lipgloss, just so I look somewhat put together! I personally love the Clarins Instant Light Lip Perfectors for this because they look natural yet polished, and are comfortable to wear.

Lastly, you can only topically hydrate your skin so much, and so my most critical in-flight essential is to drink a lot of water. I’m talking at least a litre for a short-mid haul flight, which has the added benefit of preventing jet lag. By the end of the flight, my skin is usually in better condition that when I took off!

Do you have an in-flight beauty routine? I’d love to know what products you use!

Aimee xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

