CLARISONIC MIA 2 CLEANSING SYSTEM

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

AN ENDLESS LOVE AFFAIR

The humble Clarisonic has been around for what feels like forever. Yet despite the huge hype that surrounded it a few years ago, the big Clarisonic movement seems to be pretty much dead now. I’ve used my Mia 2 every day for over two years now, and I’m still very much in love with it – I don’t think I could ever be without it now! So here’s a little reminder of why the Clarisonic is still amazing in my eyes, and why you need one in your life if you haven’t discovered it already.

What is a Clarisonic?

The Clarisonic is a cleansing system that uses oscillating (back-and-forth) sonic vibrations to deeply cleanse and exfoliate the skin. The design and timing of the brush head movement is unique to Clarisonic, and unlike spinning movements found on many similar tools sold by other brands, it’s gentle enough on the skin to not cause irritation, yet removes six times more makeup than manual cleansing.

The Mia 2 is an upgraded version of the original Mia model, with two speed settings and a 60-second T-Timer which will buzz when it’s time to clean each area of your face, allowing you to customise your cleansing routine to suit your skincare needs. It’s waterproof so you can use it in the shower, it has a powerful battery life between charges and it comes with a handy travel case, so it’s more travel-friendly than the original Aria model.

How do you use it?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Clarisonic is not intended for use on the eye area, so you should remove any eye makeup first. I remove all of my makeup with micellar water before cleansing with the Clarisonic, which isn’t essential but helps to keep the brush head from getting too grubby. I then use my Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish as usual, wetting the Clarisonic brush head with warm water and brushing my face in circular motions – effectively in place of the ‘hot cloth’ step in the Liz Earle routine. To be honest, the brush probably works best with a foaming cleanser, but the Liz Earle cleanser is just my favourite. However, I have been testing out the Absolution Le Nettoyant Pureté cleanser, which I recently received in a Birchbox. This foams up nicely without being too drying, and works really well paired with the Clarisonic, so I would highly recommend this cleanser too.

I always use the lower speed setting to cleanse, as my skin is quite sensitive, and I’ve always stuck to using the sensitive brush head that comes with the Clarisonic as this works perfectly well for me. You should aim to replace your brush head every three months, which isn’t a huge cost as you can repurchase these for about £21.

Does it work?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Clarisonic claims that with regular daily use, the brush reduces dry skin patches, oily areas and blemishes and immediately leaves skin feeling and looking smoother. I can certainly testify to all of the above, and I would say I started to notice a big improvement in the texture of my skin after just a couple of weeks. It felt softer, smoother, and I stopped getting dry/flaky patches around my nose and mouth during the colder months. If I remember rightly, there was an initial period of about a week or two where I broke out a fair bit, which I assume was the Clarisonic drawing all the dirt and grime out of my pores. But since then, I think the Clarisonic has helped hugely to keep my skin feeling really clean and looking as good as possible, by preventing a build-up of dirt and makeup. The deep cleansing action also helps products absorb better, making skin more receptive to skincare ingredients. I definitely notice my makeup applies a lot better when I’m regularly using the brush, and my moisturisers and serums always absorb nicely, rather than just sitting on the skin.

Is it worth the money?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Clarisonic Mia 2 retails at around £125, which is a big skincare investment for most people – it certainly was when I first purchased it a couple of years ago. Back then, there weren’t as many cheaper alternatives on the market like there is now, but I haven’t tried any other cleansing brushes so unfortunately, I can’t give any comparisons. Having said that, I don’t think the price is outrageous for the quality of the tool. I would easily spend that on a few meals out, and having great skin is certainly worth sacrificing a few fancy dinners!

I’d love to hear your recommendations for other cleansing tools or brushes!

Aimee xoxo

Leave a Reply

