TATTOOING MY EYEBROWS

EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT SEMI-PERMANENT MAKEUP

Back at the beginning of this year, I made a big decision. Well big for me anyway… I decided to get a tattoo on my face!

This wasn’t a decision I took lightly, especially seeing as I’ve never had a tattoo before. But I have oddly sparse brows naturally, so the idea of not having to fill them in with makeup every day had an obvious appeal. When a family friend told me she was trained in semi-permanent makeup tattooing, like most I pictured that surprised black sharpie effect. I mean each to their own and all, but I prefer a more natural look. However, as soon as I saw Rosalie’s portfolio I booked myself in for the two-part procedure, and honestly I’ve never looked back! Since then I’ve had a lot of people ask me about my eyebrows, so here’s everything I think you should know before taking the plunge yourself.

Getting the right shape – What if my brows go out of fashion?

The most fundamental part of this whole process is obviously finding the right shape for you. These brows are going to be on your face for a long time, so it’s important that the outlined shape works with your natural hair growth and compliments your face shape, rather than following the latest eyebrow trends or copying someone else. Your therapist should ensure both factors are perfect. However, it’s really important that you feel comfortable enough to communicate exactly what you want to achieve at this stage. If you aren’t sure about something you need to vocalise this and work together with the therapist to find a shape you are both happy with. Rose was very honest, patient and understanding with me throughout, and ultimately I left her salon with my dream brows – completely tailored and unique to me.

The procedure – Does it hurt?

I didn’t take any pictures of the actual procedure. But I can tell you the tattooing only took about fifteen to twenty minutes, there was little to no bleeding, and with the numbing cream, there wasn’t too much pain (more just an uncomfortable scratching sensation). Don’t get me wrong, there were a few moments where I found myself gritting my teeth – whilst trying to keep every muscle in my face perfectly still! – But it was only one hair stroke at a time, so not completely unbearable for a tattoo novice like myself.

The results – Are they permanent?

Once the hair strokes have been penciled in they look quite thick and scary, but I promise you the hairs are much finer once they are tattooed on. The colour of mine did initially look quite harsh, but within 1-2 weeks they had faded to a natural shade, which perfectly merged with my own brow hairs. Finally, after a second top-up appointment a few weeks later, I was the proud owner of some shapely and natural-looking brows!

The longevity of the tattooing completely depends on the person. Some people can lose almost all pigment after their initial appointment, whilst others will retain a high amount of the colour. After the final top-up treatment, some will find their tattoo lasts up to three years, whilst others may need another top-up after six months; it really just depends on your skin and how you look after them. Rose advised me that sun exposure could dramatically fade the pigment, so she recommends using a high SPF on holiday to prevent this. However, I used my usual face SPF 15 on holiday, and although they have faded ever so slightly, they still look pretty amazing.

Was the procedure worth the money? For me completely! I have saved so much time getting ready in the mornings, and it feels quite liberating being able to go makeup-free knowing I don’t completely resemble an egg! All I do to maintain my brows now is get them threaded and tinted every month or so, and I use a brow gel to hold my natural hairs in place as some of them like to sprout out in all sorts of weird and wonderful directions! Now for some hilarious before, during and after photos…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAbefore

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAimmediately after my first and second appointment

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAthe final result now (around three months and one holiday later!)

Choosing the right therapist is so important if you are considering having any semi-permanent makeup procedure, and unfortunately, I have seen some really poor workmanship about! If you live in the Hertfordshire area I highly recommend Rosalie at The Beauty Spot for semi-permanent makeup. You can follow her Instagram and Facebook for all pictures, promotions, and details.

If you have any more questions please comment below and I will be more than happy to answer.

Aimee xoxo

2 thoughts on “TATTOOING MY EYEBROWS

  1. Love this! I’m a semi permanent technician and many people come to me with brows that have been so poorly done! If done well they make such a huge difference and yours are beautiful! Welcome to the world of semi permanent makeup 😘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

