HOLIDAY MAKEUP ESSENTIALS

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

WHAT I’M TAKING WITH ME TO CAPE VERDE

I get so excited about packing my holiday makeup bag. I find the process of streamlining my usual makeup kit to just the essentials really therapeutic, and I love choosing one or two signature products that will always remind me of the holiday, such as a perfume or lipstick.

This time around, I’ve got a nice mix of new products and old trusted favourites in my makeup selection. Starting with my base, I always go back to my Laura Mercier Oil Free Tinted Moisturiser over foundation. Holidays are usually one of the rare occasions where my skin is completely spot-free! So I like to make the most of it and keep things a little lighter. I pack two shades – Bisque, which is my usual paler shade, and Sand, which is a few shades darker – that way I can adapt the colour as my tan deepens. For concealer, I’ve recently picked up the Clarins Instant Concealer and my first impressions of this product are really good; it blends flawlessly into my skin and doesn’t settle into any fine lines. As I mentioned I don’t usually have an issue with spots when I’m away, however if I am having a bit of a breakout before I will pack my Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage to pinpoint-conceal any pesky blemishes in the first few days.

Obviously I only really need one bronzer, and the Estée Lauder Bronze Goddess is usually my go-to for summer. But on a daily basis I use my absolute favourite Hourglass Luminous Bronze Light, and the thought of going without it for 10 days makes me feel a little uneasy, so to be completely honest I’ll probably pack both! For blush, I always go for my staple peachy-pink shade, and I have loved MAC Peaches blush for years. I find it to be a really flattering, natural looking shade and just looking at it makes me think of summer.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Benefit does loads of great makeup kits with miniature versions of their cult products, which are perfect space savers to take away on holiday. I’ve got a mini Watts Up Highlighter, and three mini Creaseless Cream Eyeshadow pots in the shades Bikini-tini, Birthday Suit and My Two Cents, which I picked out of various kits. I prefer to use creams over powders on holiday so these products are perfect, plus I like to keep my eyes really quick and simple with one colour all over, and these three shades are all really lovely for summer.

I rarely bother with liquid eyeliner on holiday, so I’ll usually stick to my MAC Teddy Eyeliner Pencil if I wear any at all. I have semi-permanent makeup tattooing on my eyebrows so they are pretty much good to go all the time, I just use a bit of Benefit Gimme Brow to keep the hairs fixed in place. For mascara, I’m not too fussy. I don’t wear makeup during the day so I don’t need anything waterproof, but I have recently picked up the Diorshow Iconic Mascara and really like using that at the moment.

I wanted a new lipstick for summer this year, something a bit brighter than my usual glossy pinks/nudes, so I’ve purchased the Charlotte Tilbury Matte Revolution lipstick in the shade Sexy Sienna. I have a full review of this coming soon on the blog so I won’t go into much detail, but this really is a perfect shade for summer and will look amazing with a tan. I can already see this being my staple ‘Summer ‘16’ product, so I’m super excited to take this away with me to Cape Verde!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lastly, I always need to use a makeup setting spray to stop my makeup completely sliding off my face in the heat. I purchased the new Clarins Fix’ Makeup Spray for Cape Verde as it contains Aloe Vera, which I thought would be great for hydrating and soothing my skin after a day in the sun. It also has the Clarins anti-pollution complex in it, which fights signs of premature ageing caused by pollution, so it’s a great skincare step to add to my makeup routine too!

What are your go-to holiday makeup essentials? Do you have any signature products that remind you of a special holiday or occasion?

Aimee xoxo

4 thoughts on “HOLIDAY MAKEUP ESSENTIALS

Leave a Reply

